Alexandros Makriyannis

Alexandros Makriyannis, PhD,

George D Behrakis Chair, Chemistry and Chemical Biology, College of Science - Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Northeastern University

Dr. Alexandros Makriyannis holds the George Behrakis Trustee Chair in Pharmaceutical Biotechnology at Northeastern University and is Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Chemistry, and Chemical Biology and Director of Center for Drug Discovery at Northeastern University.  He obtained his Ph.D. in medicinal chemistry at the University of Kansas and completed postdoctoral training in synthetic organic chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley. Following positions at Smith, Kline and French Laboratories and Tufts Medical School, he moved to the University of Connecticut, where he rose to the rank of Distinguished Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology and Pharmacology.  In 2005, he joined Northeastern University and established its Center for Drug Discovery, which has since expanded to 57 members.  The Center is dedicated to discovering novel medications that address important medical needs, developing approaches and technologies that improve the success of finding new drugs, and training and educating scientists in the art of drug discovery and development.  Dr. Makriyannis has spent the past two decades inventing and applying chemical, biochemical, and biophysical approaches to study the endocannabinoid signaling system and exploring its therapeutic potential.  A particular focus has been the discovery and profiling of novel therapeutic candidates for addiction disorders, including cocaine and nicotine abuse, metabolic disorders including obesity, and pain.  The results of this research are encompassed in over 450 publications and over 40 patents.  He was the recipient of numerous awards, including the AAPS Award in Drug Design and Discovery (2002), the ICRS Mechoulam Life Achievement Award in Cannabinoid Research (2006), the Kenneth E. Avis Award in Medicinal Chemistry (2007), the ACS Research Lifetime Acheivement Award in Medicinal Chemistry (2012), the Northeastern Award for Excellence in Research and Creativity (2012), the ACS Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame (2013) and the AAPS Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award (2015).